2021 Committee

Convenor & Sponsorship

Associate Professor Kara Barry

Associate Professor Kara Barry is a lecturer and researcher at the Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture, University of Tasmania. Kara has conducted research for over 20 years in plant pathology and beneficial microorganisms, particularly in production forestry and horticulture. Recent research topics include organic management of blueberry rust, the resistance of native pepper to Phytophthora cinnamomi, and fungicide-resistance of Botrytis cinerea in sweet cherry. Kara has been a Tasmanian regional councillor of APPS since 2012. View Kara’s online profile here. Email Kara.Barry@utas.edu.au

Scientific Program Chair

Dr Robert Tegg

Dr Robert Tegg is a researcher at the Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture, University of Tasmania. Robert has conducted research for over 15 years in plant pathology in vegetable crops. Recent research topics include management of key soilborne diseases of potatoes, specifically Spongospora subterranea and Phytophthora erythroseptica, and the role of soil health in providing resilient and robust production systems. View Robert’s online profile here. Email Robert.Tegg@utas.edu.au

Sponsorship Coordinator

Dr Brett Summerell

Dr Brett Summerell is the Director, Research and Chief Botanist at the Australian Institute of Botanical Science, Royal Botanic Gardens and Domain Trust in Sydney. He is also an Adjunct Professor at Kansas State University and at the University of Sydney.
Brett has a research interest in plant diseases and fungi and has published over 150 refereed papers and books in this area and is an international authority on Fusarium diseases. He is a Fellow of the Australasian Plant Pathology Society and a Fellow of the American Phytopathological Society and was President of the Australasian Plant Pathology Society for 2018-19. Email: Brett.Summerell@rbgsyd.nsw.gov.au

Bursary Coordinator

Christine Horlock

Christine Horlock is a Principal Scientist providing advice on plant diseases and pests within Biosecurity Queensland, Queensland Department of Agriculture and Fisheries. A plant virologist by training, Christine spent her early career undertaking research projects on diseases of sub-tropical and temperate horticultural crops in south east Queensland. Over the last 20 years, Christine has participated in many roles for the Society, including Regional Councillor for Queensland, Executive Secretary for the 2005-2007 Management Committee, 2019 Conference Organising Committee and Regional Council Co-ordinator.

Committee Members

Susan Archer

Susan Archer is the Plant Health Diagnostics Coordinator for Plant Pathology within Biosecurity Tasmania. She has over 25 years’ experience in plant pathology and in her current role, she manages the Department’s Agdia Distributorship as the sole Australian agent for the USA-based company. She is responsible for ensuring service delivery excellence and quality by providing world leading plant diagnostic serological kits to clients Australia wide. She is also a member of the Agricultural Institute of Australia (MAIA) and the National Plant Health Diagnostic Network (NPHDN). Email: susan.archer@dpipwe.tas.gov.au

Peter Cross

Mr Peter Cross works as the Team Leader for Plant Pathology within Biosecurity Tasmania. In this role he manages the service delivery of plant disease diagnostics by highly skilled staff across four laboratory areas (general plant pathology, virology, molecular and biosecurity containment). Peter has responsibility for the provision of plant pathology advice to Tasmania’s Chief Plant Health Manager and policy team on both exotic and endemic pathogens. He has been a member of the Subcommittee on Plant Health Diagnostics (SPHD) and the Plant Health Committee (PHC). Email peter.cross@dpipwe.tas.gov.au

Dr Alison Dann

Dr Alison Dann is a Molecular Plant Pathologist with the Department of Primary Industries, Parks, Water, and Environment. Alison has worked in molecular biology for over 18 years and plant pathology for 8 years. Alison diagnoses a wide variety of plant pests and diseases for Biosecurity Tasmania to help keep Tasmania relative pest- and disease-free status in support of our primary industries. Email: Alison.Dann@dpipwe.tas.gov.au

Dr Jason Scott

Dr Jason Scott is a researcher at the Tasmanian Institute of Agriculture, University of Tasmania. Jason has over 20 years’ experience in plant pathology research into horticultural and cereal cropping systems. His current research interests include the epidemiology of fungal and oomycete diseases affecting extractive crops such as pyrethrum and poppies. View Jason’s online profile here. Email Jason.Scott@utas.edu.au

Print Friendly, PDF & Email